Pitchers Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, and John Smoltz, along with second baseman Craig Biggio were elected into the Major League Baseball Hall of Fame by the Baseball Writers Association of America on Tuesday.

Each player held individual press conferences on Tuesday, to discuss being elected.

Johnson pitched for 22 years with the Montreal Expos, Seattle Mariners, Houston Astros, Arizona Diamondbacks, New York Yankees, and San Francisco Giants, compiling 303 wins and 4,875 strikeouts, which ranks second on the all-time list. He was a 10-time All-Star, and a 5-time Cy Young Award winner.

Martinez pitched for 18 years with the Los Angeles Dodgers, Montreal Expos, Boston Red Sox, New York Mets, and Philadelphia Phillies, accumulating 219 wins and 3,154 strikeouts. He was selected to eight All-Star teams, while winning the Cy Young Award three times.

Smoltz pitched for 21 years with the Atlanta Braves, Boston Red Sox, and St. Louis Cardinals, totaling 213 wins, 154 saves, and 3,084 strikeouts. He was an 8-time All-Star and one-time Cy Young Award winner.

Biggio played 20 years, all with the Astros, compiling .281 average, along with 291 home runs, 3,060 hits, 668 doubles, 1,175 runs batted in, and 414 stolen bases. He was selected to the National League All-Star team seven times.

This year's induction ceremonies are scheduled for July 26 in Cooperstown, New York.