The preseason watch list for the 2013 John Mackey Award was released on Tuesday.

The award, which is named after former Syracuse and Baltimore Colts great John Mackey, has been given out to the nation's best tight end, annually, since 2000.

The first Mackey Award winner was Tim Stratton, of Purdue, back in 2000, with Notre Dame's Tyler Eifert winning last year.

This year, 37 players make the watch list, including seven form the Big Ten and Pac-12, five from the SEC, and four from the ACC.