Major League Baseball named it's 2013 Cy young Award winners on Wednesday, with Clayton Kershaw of the Los Angeles Dodgers winning in the National League, while Max Scherzer of the Detroit Tigers took home the honor in the National League.

Voting was done by members of the Baseball Writers' Association.

Kershaw received 29 of the 30 first-place votes in the National League, to easily outdistance Adam Wainwright of the St. Louis Cardinals, who finished second.

The 25-year old Kershaw, who finished second in the balloting last year, went 16-9 in 2013, while leading the NL in both ERA (1.83) and strikeouts (282).

Kershaw becomes the first Dodgers' pitcher to win the award since Eric Gagne in 2003, and the first Dodgers' starting pitcher to win the award since Orel Hershiser, back in in 1988.

Since the award was first given out in 1956, a pitcher from the Dodgers has claimed it in eleven different seasons, more than any other team.

Scherzer received 28 of 30 first-place votes in the American League, to beat out Yu Darvish of the Texas Rangers.

The 29-year old Scherzer led the American League (and Major League Baseball) in wins, with 21, and finished second in strikeouts, with 240, while compiling a 2.90 ERA.

2013 marks the fifth different season a pitcher from the Tigers has won the award, including the second time in the last three years, with Justin Verlander winning in 2011, and Scherzer taking home  this year's honor.