Contact Us

Alabama/Oklahoma Advance To Women’s College World Series Finals

The Oklahoma Sooners will take on the Alabama Crimson Tide in the Women’s College World Series finals, after both remained remained undefeated in the tourney with victories on Sunday.

Oklahoma, who will be trying to capture their second national championship, and first since 2000, defeated the Arizona St. Sun Devils, 5-3. The win moved the Sooners to 53-8 on the year.

View the Oklahoma/Arizona St. box score.

Alabama advanced to the WCWS finals for the first time in school history, after eliminating the top-seeded California Bears, 5-2. The win improved the Crimson Tide to 58-7 on the season.

View the Alabama/California box score.

The series between Oklahoma and Alabama guarantees that a team from the Pac-10/Pac-12 won’t win the national title. A team from the Pac-10/Pac-12 had won the tournament in six consecutive years, and ten of the last 11. Furthermore, this year will be the first time since 1986 that the Pac-10/Pac-12 won’t have a representative in the finals.

Oklahoma is the only Big XII team to win the national title, while no SEC team has ever won one.


The WCWS Championship series is a best-of-three game series that begins Monday night, at 7 pm, at ASA Hall of Fame Stadium, in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.


Best of ESPN1420

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for The Locker Room quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive The Locker Room contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.