The 24th annual Chuck Bednarik Watch List was announced on Monday by The Maxwell Football Club and two LSU Tigers made the list. LSU junior linebacker Devin White and sophomore cornerback Greedy Williams.

The Bednarik Award is presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year and has been a running tradition since 1995. The two Tigers who have captured this award have been Patrick Peterson and Tyrann Mathieu in 2010 and 2011.

The semifinalists for the Bednarik Award are set to be announced on October 29, as for the three finalists, they will be revealed on November 19. As for the winner of the award, that will be announced on December 15 as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

Devin White was a beast last year and the unsung hero for that defensive front for the Tigers as he lead the SEC in tackles with 133 at linebacker. He was the first Tiger to do so since the early 1980's.

In addition, White was named as the SEC Defensive Player of the Week four times in 2017 which set a league record. Also, he was named as a second team All-American as well.

As for Greedy Williams, he started 13 games last season and led the SEC in interceptions with six which led to him earning third team All-American honors.


For all my sports posts and to hear my inner sports thoughts, make sure to keep up with me on TwitterInstagram, and Facebook.