The Golden Spikes Award is one of the most prestigious in college baseball and three LSU Tigers are on the 30 player watch list to be a finalist.

Golden Spikes Award Report via LSU Baseball SID


DURHAM, N.C. – LSU players Kade Scivicque, Alex Bregman and Alex Lange have been named to the

30-player USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award watch list. The announcement of the list continues the journey to naming the top amateur baseball player in the country in a presentation on Tuesday, June 23, in Los Angeles.

Sponsored by Major League Baseball, and presented in partnership with the Rod Dedeaux Foundation, 2015 marks the 38th year of the USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award.

The watch list will continue to be a “rolling” list until May 27 -- when the semifinalists for the award are announced -- ensuring that athletes can play themselves into consideration for the award.

Scivicque, a senior catcher from Maurepas, La., enters leads the Tigers with a .370 batting average. Scivicque has collected 15 doubles, five homers and 35 RBI while throwing out 16 base runners attempting to steal.

Bregman, a junior shortstop from Albuquerque, N.M., is hitting .337 this season with 20 doubles, three triples, eight homers, 39 RBI and an SEC-leading 26 stolen bases. He has committed just seven errors in 267 chances.

Bregman was the 2013 National Freshman of the Year and the winner of the 2013 Brooks Wallace Award as the nation’s best shortstop.

Lange, a right-handed pitcher from Lee’s Summit, Mo., has twice earned SEC Freshman of the Week recognition, and he was named a Collegiate Baseball National Player of the Week on March 16.

Lange is 8-0 on the year with a 2.22 ERA and 74 strikeouts in 69 innings.

On May 22, USA Baseball will announce the semifinalists for the 2015 Golden Spikes Award. The semifinalists list will be sent to a voting body consisting of past USA Baseball National Team coaches and press officers, members of the media that follow the amateur game closely, select professional baseball personnel, current USA Baseball staff and the 37 previous winners of the award, representing a group of more than 200 voters.

Fan voting will once again be a part of the Golden Spikes Award in 2015. Friday, May 22, marks the day when amateur baseball fans across the country will be able to vote for their favorite semifinalists at As part of this selection process, all voters will be asked to choose three players from the list. On Tuesday, June 2, USA Baseball will announce the finalists, and voting will once again commence that same day.

The 2015 Golden Spikes Award winner will be named on Tuesday, June 23, at a presentation in Los Angeles. The finalists and their families will be honored at the Rod Dedeaux Foundation Dinner that evening at the Jonathan Club in downtown Los Angeles. – created in 2008 and powered by MLB Advanced Media -- is the online home for the award. The website features content devoted exclusively to the GSA, including news, the weekly Golden Spikes Award spotlight, voting history and past winner photo galleries.

The anticipated timeline for the 2015 Golden Spikes Award announcements is:

Friday, May 22: 2015 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award semifinalists voting begins
Friday, May 29: 2015 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award semifinalists voting ends
Tuesday, June 2: 2015 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award finalists voting begins
Friday, June 12: 2015 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award finalists voting ends
Tuesday, June 23: 2015 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award trophy presentation
A complete list of the 30-player USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award watch list is as follows:

Name, Position, Class, School, Conference

Andrew Benintendi, OF, Sophomore, Arkansas, SEC

David Berg, RHP, Senior, UCLA, Pac 12

Phil Bickford, RHP, Sophomore, CC of Southern Nevada, Scenic West (JC)

Alex Bregman, SS, Junior, LSU, SEC

Willie Calhoun, IF/OF, Sophomore, Yavapai College, ACCAC (JC)

Taylor Clarke, RHP, RS-Junior, College of Charleston, CAA

Will Craig, 1B/RHP, Sophomore, Wake Forest, ACC

Carson Cross, RHP, RS-Senior, UConn, American Athletic

Matthew Crownover, LHP, Junior, Clemson, ACC

Bobby Dalbec, 3B/RHP, Sophomore, Arizona, Pac 12

Donnie Dewees, OF, RS-Sophomore, North Florida, Atlantic Sun

Riley Ferrell, RHP, Junior, TCU, Big 12

Michael Freeman, LHP, Senior, Oklahoma State, Big 12

Carson Fulmer, RHP, Junior, Vanderbilt, SEC

Luke Gillingham, LHP, Junior, Navy, Patriot League

Ian Happ, OF, Junior, Cincinnati, American Athletic

Kyle Holder, SS, Junior, San Diego, West Coast

Tyler Jay, LHP, Junior, Illinois, Big 10

Kevin Kaczmarski, OF, RS-Senior, Evansville, Missouri Valley

Scott Kingery, 2B, Junior, Arizona, Pac 12

Alex Lange, RHP, Freshman, LSU, SEC

Brendan McKay, IF/LHP, Freshman, Louisville, ACC

Andrew Moore, RHP, Junior, Oregon State, Pac 12

Kade Scivicque, C, Senior, LSU, SEC

Nick Sell, 3B, Senior, Seton Hill, PSAC (D2)

Mike Shawaryn, RHP, Sophomore, Maryland, Big 10

DJ Stewart, OF, Junior, Florida State, ACC

Dansby Swanson, SS, Junior, Vanderbilt, SEC

Dillon Tate, RHP, Junior, UCSB, Big West

Logan Taylor, OF, Junior, Texas A&M, SEC