Ten members of Louisiana's Ragin' Cajun softball team have been named to the 2012 All-Louisiana team, including seven on the first team.

The team, which was voted on by members of the Louisiana Sports Writers Association, was announced Saturday night.

Louisiana, who went 53-6 in 2012, has the most representatives on the team, with ten, followed by LSU, and McNeese St., with three apiece.

Pitcher Jordan Wallace, catcher Sarah Draheim, first baseman Matte Haack, shortstop Nerissa Myers, and outfielders Katie Smith and Christi Orgeron were all named to the first team, while third baseman Natalie Fernandez, outfielder Brianna Cherry, and pitcher Ashley Brignac were all tabbed to the second team.

Orgeron, who hit a a .351, with 22 homers, and a nation-leading 94 RBI's was named the Hitter of the Year. The senior from New Orleans tied an NCAA record with six grand slam homers this season.

Haack was named Newcomer of the Year, along with Melanie Goff of Louisiana Tech. The junior, who transferred from the University of Arizona prior to the start of the season hit a .333, with nine homers, and 56 RBI's.

Wallace got Freshman of the Year honors, after going 27-2 in her first year of college softball. She set an NCAA record  by winning her first 23 decisions.

Co-head coaches Michael and Stefni L0tief were named Coach(s) of the Year, marking their fifth such honor.

UL's Christi Orgeron---2012 Louisiana Player of the Year


View the 2012 All-Louisiana Softball Team below:



First Team
Rachele Fico, P                         LSU
Jordan Wallace, P                     Louisiana
Sarah Draheim, C                      Louisiana
Matte Haack, 1B                        Louisiana
Paige Cormier, 2B                     Louisiana
Ashley Ray, 3B                         Nicholls State
Nerissa Myers, SS                     Louisiana
Ashley Langoni, OF                   LSU
Christi Orgeron, OF                   Louisiana
Katie Smith, OF                         Louisiana
Claire Terracina, OF                   McNeese State
Ashley Modzelewski, DP            McNeese State
Melanie Goff, UT                       Louisiana Tech

Hitter of the Year: Christi Orgeron, Louisiana
Pitcher of the Year: Rachele Fico, LSU
Newcomer of the Year: (tie) Matte Haack, Louisiana; Melanie Goff, Louisiana Tech
Freshman of the Year: Jordan Wallace, Louisiana
Coaches of the Year: Stefni and Michael Lotief, Louisiana

Second Team
Ashley Brignac, P                      Louisiana
Brittany Mack, P                        LSU
Cassandra Barefield, C              Northwestern State
Janel Salanoa, 1B                     ULM
Ashley Bertot, 2B                      Nicholls State
Natalie Fernandez, 3B                Louisiana
Daniele Wilson, SS                    Louisiana College
Briana Cherry, OF                      Louisiana
Alanna DiVittorio, OF                 McNeese State
Erin Kipp, DP                            Louisiana Tech

Honorable Mention
Pitcher: Tiffany Denham, McNeese State
Catcher: Meghan Gomez, Southeastern Louisiana
First Base: Janna Frandup, Louisiana Tech; Brianna Rodriguez, Northwestern State
Second Base: Stephanie Jaeger, Louisiana College
Shortstop: Juliana Santos, LSU
Outfield: Meggie Burkett, Louisiana College
Designated Player: Ashton Bennett, Nicholls State