The Sun Belt Conference will continue to have a team in the R+L Carriers New Orleans Bowl through at least the 2019 season, after the conference and the bowl announced an extension to their current agreement on Tuesday.

The Sun Belt Conference has sent a conference member to the New Orleans Bowl every year since 2001, with the conference holding a 7-5 record against the opposition.


North Texas, who is no longer a member of the Sun Belt Conference, has represented the league in the most New Orleans Bowl games, appearing in the first four (2001-2004), followed by Troy with three appearances, Louisiana with two, with Arkansas St, Middle Tennessee, and FAU, each with one.

Like North Texas, Middle Tennessee and FAU are no longer members of the league.

Louisiana has won back-to-back games in the New Orleans Bowl, defeating San Diego St., 32-30 in 2011, before downing East Carolina, 43-34, last year, in front of a record crowd of 48,828 inside the Mercedes-Benz Superdome.

The R+L Carriers New Orleans Bowl will be granted first selection of a bowl eligible Sun Belt team each season.

The conference maintains a tie-in with the Bowl in Mobile, Ala., as well as the recently announced Camellia Bowl in Montgomery, Ala., which will begin in 2014.