Major League Baseball named it's Silver Slugger Award winners on Wednesday, honoring the best offensive player at each position in both the American League and the National League.

First awarded in 1980, the Silver Slugger Award is voted on by coaches and managers, and consists of several offensive categories, including batting average, slugging percentage, and on-base percentage.

The Baltimore Orioles place three winners on the American League list, while the Pittsburgh Pirates and St. Louis Cardinals are each represented by two players in the National League.

This year's Silver Slugger Award winners are below:


American League

C---Joe Mauer---Twins

1B---Chris Davis---Orioles

2B---Robinson Cano---Yankees

SS---J.J. Hardy---Orioles

3B---Miguel Cabrera---Tigers

OF---Torii Hunter---Tigers

OF---Adam Jones---Orioles

OF---Mike Trout---Angels

DH---David Ortiz---Red Sox


National League:

C---Yadier Molina---Cardinals

1B---Paul Goldschmidt---Diamondbacks

2B---Matt Carpenter---Cardinals

SS---Ian Desmond---Nationals

3B---Pedro Alvarez---Pirates

OF---Andrew McCutchen---Pirates

OF---Jay Bruce---Reds

OF---Michael Cuddyer---Rockies

P---Zack Greinke---Dodgers


Below is a Silver Slugger Award winner rundown, courtesy of