Hard work in the Spring pays off in the Fall. A few Ragin' Cajuns separated themselves in the offseason, and they took home Spring Awards for their efforts.

The coaching staff always picks Offensive and Defensive MVP's from the Spring Game, as well as Most Improved players. They also named "Most Unselfish," which isn't an award you hear every day. Keep your eyes on these guys. They should be making a big leap this season.

Wide Receiver Michael Jacquet earned Offensive MVP honors, along with offensive linemen Eddie Gordon and grant Horst. Mark Hudpseth said Gordon is one of the vocal leaders of the team this year, so his name was no surprise on the list. Two offensive linemen and a pass catcher...think that will help out whoever wins the starting QB job, probably Jordan Davis, when the season starts?

Defensively, the staff picked two names they've been buzzing a lot about for MVP: CB Simeon Thomas and LB Joe Dillon. Thomas has been dealing with eligibility issues, but it looks like the monster defensive back is ready to wreak havoc on opposing offenses. Dillon is a guy who can provide immediate help in the pass rush department, and Coach Hud even hinted that he could see some time at inside linebacker as well.

MVP's always get a lot of attention, but the Most Improved category might have more of an indication of how much of a leap the Cajuns can make on both sides of the ball.

QB Dion Ray and RB Jordan Wright were named Most Improved in the backfield, and WR Devin Scott and TE Matt Barnes caught the coaches' attention as pass catchers. The most interesting name on the list is freshman LG Robert Hunt, who Coach Hud said could very well be a four-year starter on the offensive line. He even compared him to Mykhael Quave. Getting excited for football season yet?

Hunt is one of the new faces expected to make an impact. On defense, the Most Improved players could change the face of things too.

Mario Osborne is expected to contribute on the defensive line, and he could be a sack machine if his development continues at this pace. Lorenzo Cryer and Travis Crawford are part of a big, physical defensive backfield that will be expected to clamp down on the passing game better than last year. Terik Miller and Alonzo Brown represented the linebacking bunch, which will no doubt be led by Otha Peters.

Last but not least, kicker Stevie Artigue earned Most Improved in the Special Teams department. He dealt with some injury issues last season, but he looks to be in fine health now. The local product out of Lafayette High has a strong leg, and if can match that with consistency the Cajuns will have a real weapon in the kicking game.

Check out the full list of Spring Awards below to see who won "Most Unselfish," and see a couple non-scholarship players that earned some kudos from their coaches.

Michael Jacquet (WR), Eddie Gordon (OL), Grant Horst (OL)

Simeon Thomas (DB), Joe Dillon (LB)
MOST IMPROVED (Scholarship)
QB – Dion Ray; RB – Jordan Wright; OL – Robert Hunt; WR – Devin Scott; TE – Matthew Barnes; DL – Mario Osborne; CB – Lorenzo Cryer; S – Travis Crawford; N/D – Terik Miller;ILB – Alonzo Brown; ST – Stevie Artigue.
MOST IMPROVED (Developmental)
Offense – Gunner Hudspeth (QB), Chris Collins (WR); Defense – Shay LaPorte (LB), Angus Sinclair (LB), Errol Brown (DB)

Jerrell Richardson (WR); Ashton Johnson (DB); Terrence Jones (LB).