New Orleans Saints head coach Sean Payton revealed the 5 team captains for 2016, as voted on by the players.

Saints quarterback Drew Brees is a team captain for the 10th consecutive year. He's been voted a team captain every year since the league implemented the current captain system in 2007 that honors captains by placing a  "C" under the right shoulder paid of their jersey.


Team elect two captains for offense, two for defense and one for special teams.

Joining Brees as a  captain on offense is starting center Max Unger.

Defensive end Cam Jordan will serve as captain for a 3rd consecutive season, while linebacker James Laurinaitis, in his first season with the team, is the other captain.

Linebacker Michael Mauti will serve as the special teams captain.

New Orleans kicks off their season Sunday at noon when they host the Oakland Raiders.