Louisiana's Ragin' Cajun baseball team took home their first Sun Belt Conference tournament championship since 1998, earning their 53rd win of the season in the process. The 53 victories is a new Sun Belt record for wins in a season.

Head coach Tony Robichaux and his team now own the regular season Sun Belt Conference championship, Sun Belt Conference tournament championship, and the nation's longest winning streak  (10 games).

The #2 ranked Cajuns (53-7) won their 4th game in 5 days in Mobile, edging by the UT-Arlington Mavericks in Sunday's tournament final by the score of 6-5.

The Mavericks jumped out to a quick 3-0 lead after two innings, earning 4 hits off Greg Milhorn. Cajun reliever Chris Charpentier replaced Milhorn in the 2nd with 1 out, pitching the next 5.0 for UL.


In all, 6 Cajun arms combined to help Louisiana win the tournament final. Martin Anderson (2-0) was tabbed with the victory, while Seth Harrison closed out the last 2 batters to earn his second save of the season.

Louisiana answered the Mavs with 3 runs of their own in the bottom of the 2nd, capturing the lead with 2 more in the 3rd.

Offensively, Jace Conrad led the Cajuns with 2 hits and a run. Blake Trahan and Ryan Leonards  each finished with a hit and 2 RBI. Caleb Adams was solid as well, adding a run, a hit, and an RBI. Greg Davis chipped in an RBI in two at bats.

Trahan was named the tournament's "Most Outstanding Player", becoming the first Cajun to win tournament MOP since B.J. Ryan. Ryan won it in 1998, the last time UL won the tourney.

Joining Trahan in tournament honors were his teammates P Matt Plitt, LF Caleb Adams, and 2B Jace Conrad.

With the best record in college baseball, Louisiana's Ragin' Cajuns will await their NCAA tournament seed tomorrow around 11:00. With their resume, the Cajuns have an excellent shot at earning a top 8 National Seed. They're a lock to host a regional, and will learn the 3 schools they'll host in the Lafayette regional next weekend.

A viewing party will take place at M.L. "Tigue" Moore field for their selection. Gates open at 10:30, and the selection show begins at 11:00. It's free to the public (for more info on selection show, click here), and ESPN1420 will be on hand tweeting pictures, quotes, and more. Live call-ins from the event will take place on the Sportsnote with Billy Ryckman between 11am and noon on ESPN1420 and espn1420.com.