Star LSU cornerback and return man Patrick Peterson was among five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy announced Wednesday by the Football Writers Association of America and the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

Other finalists include Clemson defensive end Da'Quan Bowers, Georgia linebacker Justin Houston, Boston College linebacker Luke Kuechly and Auburn defensive tackle Nick Fairly.

The Nagurski Trophy is given to the nation's top defensive player regardless of position. It will be presented Dec. 6 in Charlotte, N.C.