The New Orleans Saints have trimmed their roster to the NFL mandated 53 players. Several players were waived today, including LB Lawrence Wilson, LB Kadarron Anderson, DE Braylon Broughton, LB Ezra Butler, QB Sean Canfield, DE Alex Daniels, TE Michael Higgins, CB Nick Hixson, S Jerico Nelson, G DeOnt'ae Pannell, T Aderious Simmons, WR Andy Tanner,  and C/G Matt Tennant.

Running backs Travaris Cadet (pictured left) and Chris Ivory were on the bubble, but both made the squad as the Saints decided to include 5 RBs on their roster. Also making the roster is WR Joe Morgan. He joins Courtney Roby and Adrian Arrington in the back of the depth chart for the Saints 6 man WR unit.

Fourth round rookie draft pick Nick Toon was placed on injured reserve, along with RB Joe Banyard, S Jose Gumbs, and CB Marquis Johnson. The Saints are eligible to bring back one of them during the regular season. However, if they choose to do so, one player on the active roster must be waived.

Defensive tackle Tyrunn Walker, an undrafted rookie out of Tulsa, joins Cadet in the continuing trend of undrafted rookie FAs making the Saints regular season roster. Each year in Sean Payton era, at least 1 undrafted FA has made the squad. However, his time on the roster could potentially be short. Defensive End Will Smith (4 games) and linebacker Ramon Humber (3 games) are currently on the reserve/suspended list, and not counting against the 53 man roster.

The current Saints roster can be viewed by clicking here.