A journeyman knuckleballer and a young fireballer are the winners of this year's Cy Young Awards in Major League Baseball.

38 year old R. A. Dickey of the New York Mets and David Price of the Tampa Bay Rays are this year's winners of the coveted prize.

Dickey was actually cut by the Mets in spring training two years ago, but this year went 20-6.  His 2.73 ERA was second to the Los Angeles Dodgers' Clayton Kershaw (who finished second in the voting) and Dickey's  230 strikeouts led the league.

He is the third New York Met to win the award, joining Tom Seaver and Dwight Gooden.

Price, meanwhile, won the AL award in one of the closest votes ever.  The Tampa Bay lefty nosed out Detroit's Justin Verlander by just four points.  Price was named the winner on 13 ballots, Verlander 12.  Price led the league in wins (20-5) with a 2.56 ERA.  Verlander had better numbers in some categories, including strikeouts, but Price pitched in a tougher division.