New England Patriots head coach Bill Belichick was named the Associated Press Coach of the Year, for the third time in his career, on Wednesday. has the story, below.

Head coach Bill Belichick of the New England Patriots leaves the field after beating Chicago Bears at Soldier Field on December 12, 2010 in Chicago, Illinois.  The Patriots beat the Bears 36-7.

Bill Belichick is closing in on Don Shula.

The New England Patriots coach won The Associated Press 2010 NFL Coach of the Year award on Wednesday, the third time Belichick has earned the honor. Belichick, who also won in 2003 and 2007, now trails only Don Shula, a four-time winner of the award.