Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers was named the 2011 NFL Most Valuable Player on Saturday, becoming the first Packer to win the award since Brett Favre in 1997.

Of the 50 media members who voted on the award, 48 tabbed Rodgers, with the other two  votes going to New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees.

Rodgers led the NFL in passing with a 122.5 rating, throwing 45 touchdowns, with only six interceptions, to go along with a 68.3 completion percentage.

Rodgers guided the Packers to  the NFC North title with a 15-1 regular season mark.

Green Bay was beaten by the New York Giants in the Divisional Round of the NFC Playoffs.

Rodgers becomes the third consecutive quarterback to win the award, joining New England's Tom Brady, who won it in 2007 and 2010, and Peyton Manning of the Colts, who won it in 2008 and 2009.

Brees finished second in the voting, despite breaking Dan Marino's 27-year-old mark by setting a new single-season record for passing yards, with 5,476.

His 468 completions also set a new record, as did his 71.6 percent completion percentage, which broke his own mark, set back in 2009.

Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers


In other awards; Carolina Panthers quarterback Cam Newton won Rookie of the Year, San Franciscon 49ers head coach Jim Harbaugh won Coach of the Year, and Detroit Lions quarterback Matthew Stafford won Comeback Player of the Year.