Contact Us

UCLA Defeats Mississippi St., Wins College World Series

(Photo by Stephen Dunn/Getty Images)


The UCLA Bruins are college baseball national champions, after defeating the Mississippi St. Bulldogs, 8-0, in the College World Series finals on Tuesday night, at TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha, Nebraska.

The win by UCLA clinched a two-game sweep in the best-of-three game series, and secured the Bruins’ first-ever national championship in baseball, as well as their NCAA-record 109th in team sports.

The Bruins jumped on top in the first inning, as Brian Campbell was hit by a pitch, and then later scored on a sacrifice fly off the bat of Eric Filia, making it 1-0.

Those two combined to again to give UCLA another run in the third, when Campbell walked, and then later scored on a squeeze bunt by Filia, making it 2-0, before Pat Valaika singled home Kevin Kramer, extending the lead to 3-0.

The Bruins added two more runs in the fourth inning, making the score 5-0, before coasting to the eight-run win, their 11th-consecutive victory, and the College World Series title.

Filia led the way, offensively, driving in five runs, while Nick Vander Tuig recorded the win on the hill, allowing only five hits, and one walk, in eight shutout innings.

With the win, UCLA, who was making their third CWS appearance in the last four years, finished their season with an overall record of 49-17, while Mississippi St. fell to 51-20.

View the game box score.

Best of ESPN1420

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for The Locker Room quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive The Locker Room contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.