The New York Giants are Super Bowl Champions for the fourth time in franchise history, after defeating the New England Patriots, 21-17, in Super Bowl XLVI, Sunday night, in Indianapolis, Indiana.

The Giants had the lead, 9-0 at the end of the first quarter, but the Patriots came back to lead it at the half, 10-9, and continued to lead after three quarters, 17-15.

New England had that same lead, 17-15, with 3:46 remaining, but New York quarterback Eli Manning, who was selected as the MVP, directed a nine-play, 88-yard game-winning drive that put the Giants ahead to stay.

Giants running back Ahmad Bradshaw capped the winning drive with a 6-yard run up the middle, with only :57 remaining.

Bradshaw wanted to stop at the 1-yard line to kill more time off the clock, but fell backward into the end zone.

The Giants were unsuccessful on an attempted two-point conversion, and led 21-17.

The Patriots got close enough on their last possession to be able to throw one final long pass into the end zone, but it was unsuccessful, and the Giants defeated the Patriots in the Super Bowl for the second time in the last five years.

New York out-gained New England in total offense, 396 yards-349.

Manning completed 30-of-40 passes, for 296 yards, and one touchdown. He completed his first nine passes, which is a new Super Bowl record.

Bradshaw paced the Giants on the ground, rushing for 72 yards, and a touchdown, on 17 carries, while Hakeem Nicks, led all receivers, with 10 catches for 109 yards.

In a losing cause for New England, quarterback Tom Brady threw for 276 yards and two touchdowns.

Eli Manning #10 of the New York Giants hoist the Vince Lombardi Trophy after defeating the New England Patriots in Super Bowl XLVI at Lucas Oil Stadium on February 5, 2012 in Indianapolis, Indiana. The New York Giants defeated the New England Patriots 21-17. has the game box score