Despite the insistence by Ohio State Athletics Director Gene Smith that it wouldn't happen, the NCAA today banned The Ohio State University Buckeyes from postseason play next season.

The NCAA today issued the bowl ban as well as scholarship reductions and other penalties as a result of a scandal in which players accepted $14,000 and tattoos in exchange for memorabilia.

The University had offered to vacate wins from the 2010 season, return bowl money, go on probation for two years and reduce scholarships by five over a three year period.

That wasn't enough for the NCAA, which added a year of probation, issued the postseason ban and reduced scholarships by three per season through 2015.

In addition, former head coach Jim Tressel was issued a five year show-cause penalty.