Contact Us

Maxwell & Bednarik Award Watch Lists Released

(Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images)


The preseason watch lists for the 2013 Maxwell and Bednarik Awards were released by the Maxwell Football Club on Monday.

The 77th Maxwell Award, will be given out to America’s College Football Player of the Year. The award, named in honor of Robert W. “Tiny” Maxwell, has been given out since 1937.

The Maxwell Award Watch list features 76 players, including last year’s Heisman Trophy winner, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel.

LSU quarterback Zach Mettenberger was named to the watch list, as was Louisiana Tech  running back Kenneth Dixon, and ULM quarterback Kolton Browning, all from Louisiana schools.

Representing the Sun Belt Conference, along with Browning, is WKU running back Antonio Andrews.

The 19th Bednarik Award, which features 75 candidates this year, is named after former Penn standout Chuck Bednarik, and is presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year.

Three LSU players make the Bednarik Award watch list, including linebacker Lamin Barrow, defensive tackle Anthony Johnson, and safety Craig Loston.

WKU linebacker Andrew Jackson is the lone Sun belt Conference representative on the Bednarik Award watch list.

Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o made history last year, becoming the first player to win both the Maxwell and the Bednarik in the same year.

The winners of the 2013 Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 12th.


Best of ESPN1420

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for The Locker Room quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive The Locker Room contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.