The top-ranked LSU Tigers won the 2011 SEC Championship on Saturday, defeating the Georgia Bulldogs, 42-10, in the SEC Championship Game, at the Georgia Dome, in Atlanta, Ga.

Georgia scored the first ten points of the game, and led 10-0 late in the second quarter.

The Tigers were able to get on the board for the first time courtesy of special teams, when Tyrann Mathieu returned a punt 59 yards for a touchdown at the 7:00 mark, to cut the Bulldog lead to 10-7.

Neither team scored the rest of the half, and Georgia took a 10-7 lead into the break.

The second half was then all LSU, with the Tigers outscoring Georgian 35-0, meaning LSU scored 42 unanswered points.

In the third quarter, the Tigers got three touchdowns from Kenny Hilliard, two on the ground, and one receiving, to take a 28-10 lead into the final frame.

The Tigers put the game to bed with two fourth quarter touchdowns, the first a a 48-yard run at the 6:17 mark of the fourth quarter by Alfred Blue, and the second, a 45-yard interception return by Morris Claiborne at the 5:12 mark of the quarter, extending the score to 42-10.

That proved to complete the scoring, and the Tigers left as SEC champions, winning 42-10.

Georgia was actually able to outgain LSU, in terms of total yards, 293-237, but the Tigers outgained the Bulldogs on the ground, 207-76.

Blue led the LSU rushing attack, with 94 yards, and a touchdown, on eight carries.

With the win, the Tigers improve to 13-0 on the year, while Georgia had their 10-game win streak snapped, and fell to 10-3.

For LSU it's their 11th SEC title in school history, and their fourth win in the SEC Championship Game.

The Tigers will now head to this year's BCS title game.


The Associated Press, courtesy of CBSSportsline, has the story.