Auburn head coach Gus Malzahn was named the 2013 college football national coach of the year by the Associated Press on Monday.

Malzahn easily won the award, receiving 33 votes, outdistancing Duke’s David Cutcliffe (17 votes), Florida State’s Jimbo Fisher (three votes) and Michigan State’s Mark Dantonio (three votes).

The 48-year old Malzahn, who also recently named the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year, as well as the 2013 SEC Coach of the Year, becomes the fifth SEC coach win the honor, and the second at Auburn, joining  Tommy Tuberville, who won the award back in 2004.

After guiding the Arkansas St. Red Wolves to a Sun Belt Conference title in 2012, his first as a head coach, Malzahn returned to Auburn, where he was an assistant from 2009-2011, and took a team that went 3-9 a season ago and guided them to an SEC championship this year.

Malzahn will lead Auburn against the Florida St. Seminoles in this year's BCS title games, scheduled for Monday, January 6.