Los Angeles Dodgers left-handed Clayton Kershaw has been named the winner of the 2012 National League Cy Young Award.

He's the first Dodgers' pitcher to win the award since Eric Gagne in 2003 and the first starter to win it since Orel Hershiser did it back in 1988.

Kershaw was 21-5 and led the league in ERA (2.28) and strikeouts (248).  He, like AL winner Justin Verlander, won the pitching Triple Crown.

Kershaw got 27 of the 32 first place votes, making him an easy winner over the Phillies' Roy Halladay and Cliff Lee.

The 23 year old was 12-1 after the All-Star break.