Mississippi St. head coach Dan Mullen was named the George Munger Award winner on Monday by the Maxwell Football Club, honoring the top college football coach.

The 42-year old Mullen guided the Bulldogs to a 10-2 season, and a multiple-week stay atop the Associated Press poll, along with 22 school records.

Mullen, a native of Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, has accumulated an overall record of 46-30 in his six season at the helm in Starkville, Mississippi.The award is named after George Munger, the former University of Pennsylvania head coach.

Formerly known as the Joseph V. Paterno Award, named after former Penn State head coach Joe Parterno, the Maxwell Football Club stripped Paterno’s name from the award following the Jerry Sandusky scandal of 2011.

Mullen becomes just the fourth SEC coach to be named win the Maxwell Football Club’s Coach of The Year award since it was first given out in 1989, joining Alabama's Gene Stalling (1992), Auburn's Terry Bowden (1993), and Tennessee’s Phil Fulmer (1998).

Duke head coach David Cutcliffe won the honor in 2013.

The award will be presented to Mullen in March.