Contact Us

Alabama Defeats LSU, 21-0, Wins BCS National Championship

The Alabama Crimson Tide won their second national championship in the last three years, defeating the LSU Tigers, 21-0, in the BCS title game, on Monday night, at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome, in New Orleans.

LSU defeated Alabama, 9-6, in overtime, back on November 5, in Tuscaloosa, Alabama, in a game that featured nothing but field goals, and this re-match, at least most of it, was more of the same.

Crimson Tide place-kicker Jeremy Shelley accounted for the first 15 points, connecting on field goals of 23, 34, 35, and 44 yards, while the Alabama defense did their part, allowing the Tigers to cross midfield for the first, and only time, at the 8:00 mark of the fourth quarter.

Shelley’s first field goal, a 23-yarder came at the 5;00 mark of the opening quarter, and capped-off a 5-play, 20-yard, drive that took 1:54 off the clock, giving Alabama a 3-0 lead.

The Crimson Tide made it 6-0 at the 4:18 mark of the second quarter, when Shelley hit on a 34-yard field goal, capping off a 11-play, 58-yard drive, that took 6:12 in duration.

Alabama then took a 9-0 lead into the locker room at halftime when Shelley nailed a 44-yard field goal as time expired in the initial half.

The third quarter opened with more of the same, a Shelly field goal. This one came from 35 yards, at the end of a 6-play, 50-yard drive, that took 2:11 off the clock, giving the Crimson Tide a 12-0 lead at the 12:49 mark of the third quarter.

Shelley and Alabama made it 15-0 at the :22 mark of the third quarter when he hit a 44-yard field goal, capping off a 6-play, 20-yard drive, that took 3:01 off the clock.

The final score of the night, and the only touchdown score by either team in the two games played, came on a 34-yard run by Crimson Tide running back Trent Richardson at the 4:36 mark of the fourth quarter, a run that gave a Alabama 21-0 lead, sealed the win, and gave them a national championship.

Alabama was able to out-gain LSU, in terms of total yards, 384-92, and ended with a 21-5 advantage in first downs.

The Crimson Tide did not commit a turnover, and committed only one penalty, in a dominant performance.

It was the first shutout in a BCS bowl game.

It was the first time that LSU has been shutout since 2002.

Alabama head coach Nick Saban became the first coach to win three national championships in the BCS era.

For Alabama, it’s their ninth national title in program history, in terms of the BCS, the AP poll, and/or the coaches’ poll.

Leading the way for Alabama was quarterback AJ McCarron, who completed 23-of-34 passes, for 234 yards, while Richardson gained 96 yards on 20 carries, including a touchdown.

For LSU, quarterback Jordan Jefferson struggled. He did complete 11-of-17 passes, but for a mere 53 yards, plus he was intercepted once.

Kenny Hilliard led the Tigers in rushing, with only 16 yards, on five carries.

Alabama ends their season at 12-1, while LSU finishes at 13-1.

(Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images)


View the game box score, courtesy of




Best of ESPN1420

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for The Locker Room quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive The Locker Room contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.