Contact Us

100 Names On 2013 Lombardi Award Watch List

(Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images)


100 players were named to the 2013 Lombardi watch list, which was released on Monday.

The Rotary Lombardi Award, which is named after coaching legend Vince Lombardi, and has been given out annually since 1970, is awarded to the best college football lineman, including both offense and defense, or linebacker.

This year, two LSU players, offensive guard La’El Collins, and defensive tackle Anthony Johnson were named to the watch list, as well as two other players from Louisiana schools, including ULM center Josh Allen, and Louisiana Tech defensive tackle IK Enemkpali.

Besides Allen, the Sun Belt Conference is represented on the watch list by Arkansas St. defensive tackle Ryan Carrethers, WKU linebacker Andrew Jackson, and South Alabama defensive end Alex Page.

Lombardi Award voters, which total approximately 500, are made up of the head coaches from all Division I schools, sports media personnel from across the country, and former winners and finalists of the Rotary Lombardi Award.

Ohio St. has the most previous Lombardi Award winners, with six.

Last year’s winner was Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o.

The 2013 Lombardi Award will be presented Dec. 11 in a ceremony at the Wortham Center in Houston, Texas.

Best of ESPN1420

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for The Locker Room quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive The Locker Room contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.